The Galapagos Islands - A List of the Islands and Their Features

Here you will discover a rundown of the primary Galapagos Islands and some broad data on the size and kinds of species found on each.

1.Baltra (South Seymour) Island - Also known as South Seymour, Baltra is a little level island close to the focal point of the Galpagos. Baltra Airport is one of two air terminals. Private planes fly to Baltra, as it is the main airplane terminal with offices for planes medium-term. A little straight suits the vessels anticipating travelers for the travels of the Galapagos.

2. Bartolome (Bartholomew) Island - A volcanic islet simply off the east shoreline of Santiago Island. One of the "more youthful" islands. This island is one of only a handful not many that is home to the Galapagos penguin, the main wild penguin species to live on the equator. The green turtle additionally dwells on the island.

3. Darwin (Culpepper) Island - Named after Charles Darwin. It has a territory of 1.1 square kms. Hide seals, frigates, marine iguanas, swallow-followed gulls, ocean lions, whales, marine turtles, and red-footed and Nazca boobies can be seen here.

4. Espanola (Hood) Island - Named to pay tribute to Spain and furthermore known as Hood, after Viscount Samuel Hood. It is 60 square kms and the most established and most southern of the islands (approx 3.5 million years). Because of its remote area, the island has its very own enormous number types of magma reptile, mockingbirds and tortoise.

The marine iguanas display a particular red shading change during the rearing season. It is the main spot where the waved gooney bird homes. The islands soak bluffs are an ideal spot for winged animals to take off for their sea nourishing grounds. Espanola has two guest destinations. Gardner Bay for swimming and swimming, offers an extraordinary shoreline. Punta Suarez has transient, occupant, and endemic untamed life.

5. Ferandina (Narborough) Island - Named out of appreciation for King Ferdinand 11 of Aragon, who supported the voyage of Columbus. A region of 642 square kms The most youthful and westernmost island. Many marine iguanas accumulate, chiefly on dark pumice. The celebrated flightless cormorants possess this island, as do Galapagos penguins, pelicans, Galapagos ocean lions, and Galapagos hide seals. Here you can see magma streams and mangrove woodlands.

6. Floreana (Charles or Santa Maria) Island - Named after Juan Jose Flores, the main President of Ecuador. It has a region of 173 square kms. One of the first to be possessed. Flamingos and green ocean turtles home on the island. The Galapagos petrel, an ocean winged creature, is found here. At Post Office Bay, whalers kept a wooden barrel that went about as a mail station for mail. A submerged volcanic cone and coral developments can be found at the "Fallen angel's Crown".

7. Genovesa (Tower) Island - Named for Genoa, Italy where Columbus was conceived. A zone of 14 square kms. This island is the edge of a huge submerged hole. Nicknamed "feathered creature island" for the numerous uncommon winged animals that can be seen there. There is a huge Palo Santo woodland.

8. Isabela (Albemarie) Island - Named to pay tribute to Queen Isabela. With a region of 4,640 square kms it is the biggest island of the Galapagos. The island was made by the converging of six huge volcanoes into a solitary land mass. Galapagos penguins, flightless cormorants, marine iguanas, pelicans and Sally lightfoot crabs proliferate. The island has an intriguing marsh vegetation. The third biggest occupied island, and the main island to have the equator gone through it.

9. Marchena (Bindloe) Island - Named after Fray Antonio Marchena, it has a region of 130 square kms. Home of Galapagos birds of prey, ocean lions and the Marchena magma reptile, an endemic creature.

10. NorthSeymour Island - Named for Lord Hugh Seymour, an English Nobleman. It has a region of 1.9 square kms. Framed by a topographical elevate, it is home to various types of flying creatures. North Seymour is an exceptional spot for rearing winged creatures.

11. Pinzon (Duncan) Island - Named after the Pinzon siblings, chiefs of the Pinta and Nina cruising ships, it has a zone of 18 square kms.

12. Pinta (Abingdon) Island - Named after the Pinta cruising ship, with a territory of 60 square km. Ocean lions, Galapagos falcons, monster tortoises, marine iguanas, and dolphins can be seen here.

13. Rabida (Jervis) Island - Named for the religious circle where Columbus left his child during his voyage to the Americas. It has a zone of 4.9 square kms. Iron contained in the magma gives it an unmistakable red shading. White-cheeked pintail ducks live in a saltwater tidal pond. Nine types of finches have been accounted for on this island.

14. San Cristobal (Chatham) Island - Named for the supporter holy person of seafarers, St. Christopher. Chatham was given for William Pitt, first Earl of Chatham. A region of 558 square kms. This island has frigate winged animals, ocean lions, monster tortoises, blue-and red-footed boobies, tropicbirds, marine iguanas, dolphins, and swallow followed gulls. The islands has the biggest freshwater lake in the archipelago, Laguna El Junco. The island has the second airplane terminal in the islands and Puerto Baquerizo Moreno on the island is the capital of the area of Galapagos.

15. Santa Clause Cruz (Indefatigable) Island - Named for the Holy Cross in Spanish, its English name originates from the British vessel HMS Indefatigable. It has a territory of 986 square kms. Santa Clause Cruz has the biggest populace. The Charles Darwin Research Station and the base camp of the Galapagos National Park Service are situated here. The Highlands are acclaimed for the magma burrows. Huge tortoise populaces are found here. Dark Turtle Cove is encompassed by mangroves, with ocean turtles, beams and little sharks.

16. Santa Clause Fe (Barrington) Island - Named for a city in Spain, with a territory of 24 square kms. Santa Clause Fe has a woodland of Opuntia Cactus.

17. Santiago (San Salvador, James) Island - Named for Saint James in English, otherwise called San Salvador, after the main island found by Columbus. The island has a zone of 585 square kms. Marine iguanas, ocean lions, hide seals, land and ocean turtles, flamingos, dolphins and sharks are found here. At Sulivan Bay, a magma stream can be watched.

18. Wolf (Wenman) Island - Named for German geologist Theodor Wolf. It has a territory of 1.3 square kms. Here, hide seals, frigatebirds, Nazca and red-footed boobies, marine iguanas, sharks, whales, dolphins and swallow-followed gulls can be seen. The vampire finch, which feeds mostly on blood pecked from different fowls, and is just found on this island.

19. Daphne Major - A little island legitimately north of Santa Cruz and west of Baltra, this entirely difficult to reach island shows up, however anonymous, on Ambrose Cowley's 1684 graph. It is significant as the area of multidecade finch populace thinks about.

20. SouthPlaza Island(Plaza Sur) - Named to pay tribute to previous president, General Leonidas Plaza of Ecuador.. It has a territory of 0.13 square kms. The verdure of South Plaza incorporates Opuntia desert plant and Sesuvium plants, which structure a rosy floor covering over the magma arrangements. Iguanas are bottomless, and huge quantities of winged creatures can be seen from the precipices.

21. Anonymous Island - A little islet utilized for the most part for scuba jumping.

also, for more data on visits with Action Travel and A-Z Tours look at.

0 Response to "The Galapagos Islands - A List of the Islands and Their Features"

Post a Comment

Iklan Atas Artikel

Iklan Tengah Artikel 1

Iklan Tengah Artikel 2

Iklan Bawah Artikel